Artists

(*) 1977 | | www.recordingsforthesummer.de/barthel

Mitsprache reden wir nicht (Sprechkonzert)

"Mitsprache reden wir nicht" (We don’t speak co-determination) is a volume of spoken pieces, generated from enquiries for Karl-Marx-Stadt’s punk scene at that time tied to questions about hidden things, speechlessness, conditions and opportunities in its own language, a particular language. The imagination, which forms upon the speechlessness especially perceived from the outside, represents the interest in this work of art. Likewise she asks after the terms of historiography and acts as a model for other cities in the former GDR, far beyond the named above epicentres. The eternal provincial backwater, which lacks the articulation?


(*) 1979 | Berlin | www.thomas-behling.de

Deutsche Kolonien

Fruit stickers from all over the world are collected on a historical collecting sheet for stamps of the German colonies. On closer examination, it quickly becomes obvious that this is not about finding historical colonial structures in modern times.

However, the practices of modern agriculture, especially in the sector of fruit growing and the associated global trade, show exploitative structures in social and environmental matters. Global agriculture is less about securing human nutrition than about generating profit for single individuals; at the expanse of social structures and future generations.

(*) 1986 | Leipzig/Dresden

Poetische Diagramme (digital print)

The poetic diagrams investigate the text and the area of the picture as a support of information and structure. They deal with the (apparent) contradiction of poetry and logic. Every diagram is specific and shows possible connections of words and their characteristics in the meaning of content and typography. In the context of „Begehungen 2018“, diagrams relating to the place and the exhibited works of art, are in creation.

(*) 1960 | Wien

Der Stümper – Heimwerkerkurse für Gartenfreunde – ein Provisorium

Since Middle European summer houses are only equipped with half-empty adhesion tape rolls, pitted rubber boots and rusted florist’s wire, it is necessary to think out of the box to realize a brilliant idea. That is why improvisation, creativity and thrift are the key figures in teaching the fundamentals of modern self-sufficiency in DIY courses for gardening enthusiasts.

(*) 1984 | Dresden | www.robert-czolkoss.de

Die gelbe Form ("The yellow shape", object)

The shape does not evolve from the sketches but originates in the process of modelmaking. Every added wooden strip reacts to the one before. Within the context of Begehungen, the yellow shape creates a contrast to the idyllic charme of gardening and its landscape. The linear character hints to an urban architectural aesthetic further reinforcing its strange and unfitting quality.

(*) 1990 | Hamburg

Flaggenland (documentary)

Denis is a 9-year-old boy, who lives with his family in a recently renovated semi-detached house in a German suburb. Since a few years he has been collecting flags. Meanwhile he knows the corresponding countries and regions, obtaining competence in this field, which normally surpasses the knowledge of his adult conversation partners.

In their daily lives his family got used to being surrounded by flags. The garage, the garden and the terrace belong to the flag country.

(*) 1971 | Berlin | www.ankedeichmann.de

„Revolverblüher (Phalaenopsis cwww.ankedeichmann.deelebensis)“ (linocut)

In 1993 I was, once again, drawing plants. To be more precisely: I drew weeds. To my astonishment, I realized, that plants are brilliant sculptors. From this day on, I resigned from my own artistic work and started collecting artworks from plants since… plants are the better sculptors.

Plants work restless and diligent. When it is too cold, too hot or too dry, they go on strike. If they get overwatered, they die. Plants fight against each other for the best places in an exhibition. However, the result is always aesthetic and harmonic.


(*) 1986 | Leipzig | www.garff.de

Insektenkästen (objects from found material in wooden boxes)

Insect collections, a long time popular hobby of the educated middle classes, present in excerpts nature's richness of colour and form. At the same time, they manifest a clear unbalance of power between man and nature. Insects are systematically collected, killed and classified in a taxonomic system. They become cultivated objects. Matthias Garff‘s insect cases quote this cultural practice. They show how strongly our perception of nature is influenced by aesthetic criteria.


(*) 1967 | Berlin/Potsdam | www.claudiahajek.de

Layers (Installation)

A derelicted terrain often shows off a special kind of magic. Maybe because it contains different time layers or because it is the temporary result of different forming processes. Claudia Hajek questions how coordinates of a room change if a piece of nature planned and made from human hand is left without any treatment. Which consequences have wind, weather, plants and microorganisms to geometrical arranged forms and structures? Where do the powers of nature create something new?

(*) 1987 | Hildesheim / Berlin | www.pleu.eu

Der Aufstand der Kleingartensiedlung - Neue Weltordnung (Live-Action-Role-Play, 3 days)

Our research conducted in the allotment holders’ association “Vereinte Kraft” (united strength) approaches the allotment association as a microcosm of Germany. Is the settlement a reflection of the world? How popular are beetroot, wild garlic and Co., and how do the “recreational animals” shape their open spaces?
The collected material frames the concept for a live action role-playing game. Everyone is invited to play it. The roles range from tomato to spade, all the way to the allotment holder himself.
What would the new world order look like depending on the needs of cabbage turnip, herb spiral and co? From daily life to disaster, everything is possible.


(*) 1987 | Leipzig

like blossoms shaken from a tree, thousands of parachutes - white, yellow, red, green and black- floated down on Crete (Videoinstallation)

The installation "like blossoms shaken from a tree, thousands of parachutes - white, yellow, red, green and black - floated down on Crete" deals with the path of the silk that german wehrmacht parachutes were made of - from the silk caterpillar breeding in small gardens to the airborne battle around Crete in 1941 all the way for their reuse there as clothes and handkerchiefs. In the NS propaganda program for breeding of silk caterpillars, controlled by the "Reich Ministry of Aviation", small garden clubs and schools were addressed from the mid-1930s, which should help the elite unit of the paratroopers by breeding of silk caterpillars to fall.

(*) 1980 | Yerevan (Armenien)

Nachalo (DVD Video, 12 min. 20 sec.)

I started working on "Nachalo" video-film as the continuation of my series of Garage-Film project, which started in 2001. From the very beginning when I saw Artavazd Peleshian's "Nachalo" short-film, which was dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the October Revolution, it became clear to me that I need to uncover the creative layers which Peleshian has tried to create as a resistance to the oppressive regime of the Soviet Union. In the first instance I used edited, ready archival segments shot by others, ridding them from narration as much as possible.

(*) 1982 | Amsterdam | www.guykoenigstein.com

Weißes Rauschen (und andere Privilegien) (Videoinstallation)

Die Videoinstallation, aufgenommen in einem abgelegten Dorf in den schweizer Alpen, umfasst zehn gleichzeitig ablaufende Episoden. Vor unterschiedlichen,  malerischen und friedlichen Hintergründen agiert der Protagonist - der Künstler - sprachlos und gedankenversunken in fiktiven Ausdauerübungen.

(*) 1993 | Leipzig | www.instagram.com/officialronny1

Herbarium (Reading), Warum bin ich so traurig, meine Granatapfelblüte? (multimedia reading with Rah Rezaei)

The herbarium is like a garden. It contains the plants’ memories of themselves and of the meadows and woods they were taken from. Herbal is an attempted literary inventory, a cataloging of the organism „garden plot“, of the middle german nature and vegetation and their historical, political and societal excesses.


(*) 1988 / 1987 | Paris/Vienna/Wroclaw | www.lauraoriol.fr / www.jasminschaitl.com  

Circulate (Zirkulieren) (Performance)

‘circulate’ is an attempt to embody the permeability of the body with its natural environment. We roll slowly and open our senses as we experience the ground with nearly our complete body surface, smell it and maybe even taste it. However, the rolling also exemplifies an unfulfilled attempt at unifying and mending the separation between humans and their natural environments. Indeed, the pain that can be experienced in our bodies relationship to hard or sharp surfaces reveals our separation.

(*) 1978 | Berlin | www.yiannispappas.com/

Anesidora (sound installation)

The sound-installation tackles the issue of Anthropodicy (greek: Anthropos=Human and Dicē=Trial) that literally means “justifying Human”. For the purpose of this concept, the term is rejiggered Theodicy and Cosmodicy to Anthropodicy which attempts to justify the goodness of humanity. Inspired by Pandora’s myth and mostly by her other name of Anesidora “she who sends up gifts” (up implying “from below” within the earth) the artwork presents an entrance of a cellar, where all the wars of the world are kept locked and safe inside and only the battle sounds are going to be experienced.

(*) 1964 | Leipzig | www.uterichter.de

Der 15. Januar 1919 war ein Mittwoch ("January the 15th was a Wednesday", 2017, newspaper print, 32 pages, Lubok Verlag)

What do screened posters of plants have to do with the current tendencies of nationalistically motivated violence? With the work Der 15. Januar 1919 war ein Mittwoch, Ute Richter approaches this question from an artistic perspective, with plant motifs from the herbarium of Rosa Luxemburg.
She was murdered on February 15, 1919, so that “Germany can settle down as quickly as possible” (pamphlet January 1919). Ute Richter approaches the story of the revolutionary by telling the “tale of murder and manslaughter” based on abstracted plant depictions.


Landschaftstransformation ("landscape transformation", sculpture, design, overpainting, sound)

The allotment is an intimate and individual place - almost like a second living room. It tells stories about its owners, it reveals their inner self.

The idea of "landscape transformation" grew in the area of conflict between utopia and reality of the German allotment culture. It creates a dystopian dimension of our garden stereotype. The focus is not to add, but to transform, to enshroud, to overpaint and to re-arrange the found subjects. Concrete dominates green, cold dominates warmth, the artificial dominates the natural. We see a painful caricature, a distorted reality mirror, a dark future vision.

A place with no hope.

A place for a new beginning?


(*) 1981 | Chemnitz | www.anettschuster.de

Kaffeekranz (Installation)

The allotment garden is a scene of contrasts. In between concrete jungles, in intentionally or even unintentionally flourishing oases, the small-minded and the free-minded work side by side. The plot offers a wide range of possibilities ranging from organised to chaotic: the rediscovery of petty bourgeoisie or the resistance to outdated rules.

The installation “Kaffeekranz” (coffee party) addresses this network of obvious or rather seeming opposites. In times between the appeal of pettiness and a nostalgic return to traditional handcraft, lace-making from the Erzgebirge (Ore Mountains) encompasses, as a mental mirror image of the allotment garden, the indispensable meeting point of interpersonal relationships – the coffee table.

(*) 1987 | Düsseldorf / Wuppertal

Postwachstum (paper-mâché, sound)

Die Arbeit Postwachstum lockt mit mit piepen, rascheln und rattern ins Gartenhäuschen. Seltsame Pflanzen haben es erobert. Sie wuchern teils tropfsteinhöhlenartig im Raum, machen das Häuschen nahezu unbetretbar.

(*) 1990 | Weimar / Leipzig | sndr.space

Trance-Dusche (sound installation)

Inspired by David Tudor's Rainforest IV the work explores the materiality of sound and operates with different modes of sensory perception. With the soundsource above the head an intimate atmosphere is created, leading into a new acoustic space. Close your eyes and the space will become tangible, deeper and wider, in- or maybe transducing a highly individual trip ...

(*) 1981 | Berlin/Leipzig | www.danieltheiler.de

Gurkenparadies (Installation)


The installation Gurkenparadies  (“Cucumber Paradise”) draws upon the image of the Chinese Cucumber which became a symbol for over-regulation through the now deposed EU Cucumber Act. This work views the city as such a normed and curated cucumber, with the periphery portrayed as a crooked, independent cucumber beyond all rules and standardizations: proactive and home-grown, expressing a sense of laissez-faire and urban sprawl.

(*) 1986 | Berlin | www.tina-wilke.net

Heilige Kolonien ("Holy colonies", video installation)

In the context of the European crisis of identity it is worth taking a look at the own front garden. Next to herbs and flowers garden gnomes are often to be seen. At a closer look the Begehungen visitor is surprised to see not the regular gnome, but beings from exotic faraway places.
In my video installation I want to swap the well-known image of the garden gnome in Germany with that of the secular saints of Latin America, relocating them to the allotment garden of Chemnitz.

Künstler*innen

(*) 1977 | | www.recordingsforthesummer.de/barthel

Mitsprache reden wir nicht (Sprechkonzert)

„Mitsprache reden wir nicht“ ist ein Konvolut von Sprechstücken, generiert aus der Recherche zur damaligen Punk-Szene Karl-Marx-Stadts und verbunden mit Fragestellungen an das Verborgene, die Sprachlosigkeit, die Voraussetzungen und Möglichkeiten einer eigenen Sprache, einer Eigensprache. Die Imagination, die sich aus der vor allem von außen wahrgenommenen Sprachlosigkeit formt, bildet das Interesse dieser Arbeit. Ebenso fragt sie nach Bedingungen für Geschichtsschreibung und steht exemplarisch für andere Städte in der ehemaligen DDR, fern der Epizentren Ost-Berlin, Leipzig, Halle und Dresden. Die ewige Provinz, der eine Artikulation fehlt? Der fremde Einheimische?

„Mitsprache reden wir nicht“ wird auf den Begehungen als Sprechkonzert uraufgeführt und ist nicht etwa wie sonst lauthals, sondern fügt sich in diese (vielleicht erzwungene) Stille der teils menschenleeren Parzellen ein.

(*) 1979 | Berlin | www.thomas-behling.de

Deutsche Kolonien (Fruchtaufkleber aus aller Welt auf historischem Sammelbogen für Briefmarken der deutschen Kolonien)

Auf einem historischen Sammelbogen für Briefmarken der deutschen Kolonien sind Fruchtaufkleber aus aller Welt gesammelt. Bei näherer Betrachtung zeigt sich schnell, dass hier nicht eins zu eins die historischen Kolonialstrukturen in der Gegenwart gesucht werden.

Doch die Praktiken der modernen Landwirtschaft zeigen gerade auch im Obstanbau und dem damit einhergehenden weltweiten Handel, Ausbeutungsstrukturen in sozialen wie ökologischen Belangen. Die globale Landwirtschaft verfolgt weniger das Ziel, die Ernährung der Menschheit zu sichern, sondern orientiert sich mehr am Profit Einzelner: auf Kosten sozialer Strukturen und zukünftiger Generationen.

(*) 1986 | Leipzig/Dresden

Poetische Diagramme (Digitaldruck)

Die poetischen Diagramme untersuchen Text und Bildfläche als Träger von Information und Struktur. Sie beschäftigen sich mit dem (scheinbaren) Widerspruch von Poesie und Logik. Jedes Diagramm ist konkret und imaginiert mögliche Zusammenhänge von Wörtern und deren inhaltlichen wie typografischen Eigenheiten. Für die Begehungen 2018 entstehen auf den Ort und die ausgestellten Kunstwerke bezogene Diagramme.

(*) 1960 | Wien

Der Stümper – Heimwerkerkurse für Gartenfreunde – ein Provisorium (Performance, experimentelle und interaktive Skulptur)

Nachdem mitteleuropäische Gartenschuppen oft nicht viel mehr anzubieten haben als halbleere Klebebandrollen, löchrige Gummistiefel und verrosteten Blumendraht, um im Garten eine geniale Idee zu verwirklichen, ist „wildes Denken“ immer mal das Mittel der Wahl, um die gewünschten Resultate zu erzielen. In Heimwerkerkursen sollen daher den interessierten Gartenfreund*innen die Grundzüge moderner Selbstversorgung näher gebracht werden, wobei Improvisation, Kreativität und Sparsamkeit klar im Vordergrund stehen.

(*) 1984 | Dresden | www.robert-czolkoss.de

Die gelbe Form (Objekt)

Den Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeit bildet die Untersuchung und Erfindung einer unbekannten Form, die sich erst durch das Vorhandensein und Betrachten erschließt. Bevor die eigentliche Arbeit realisiert wird, erstelle ich kleine Holzmodelle, denn die Form entsteht nicht aus der Zeichnung heraus, sondern aus dem Prozess des Modellbauens, in der jede zugefügte Leiste auf die vorherige reagiert. Im Kontext der Begehungen schafft die gelbe Form einen Kontrast zum Gartenidyll und dessen Landschaft. Der lineare Charakter, der eine Anspielung an einer urbanen, architektonischen Ästhetik darstellt, bestärkt das Fremdartige und Unpassende.

(*) 1990 | Hamburg

Flaggenland (Dokumentarfilm)

Denis ist 9 Jahre alt und lebt mit seiner Familie in einer frisch sanierten Doppelhaushälfte in einer deutschen Vorstadt. Seit einigen Jahren sammelt er Flaggen. Mittlerweile kennt er die dazugehörigen Länder und Regionen; hat auf diesem Gebiet eine Expertise erlangt, welche die seiner erwachsenen Gesprächspartner in der Regel übersteigt. Seine Familie hat sich damit arrangiert, im Alltag von Fahnen umgeben zu sein. Die Garage, der Garten und die Terrasse sind Flaggenland.

(*) 1971 | Berlin | www.ankedeichmann.de

„Revolverblüher (Phalaenopsis cwww.ankedeichmann.deelebensis)“ (Linolschnitt)

1993 zeichnete ich wieder einmal Pflanzen, genauer gesagt Unkraut, und stellte erstaunt fest, dass Pflanzen geniale Bildhauer sind. Von dem Tag stellte ich meine eigene künstlerische Arbeit ein und fing an, Kunstwerke von Pflanzen zu sammeln, denn...Pflanzen sind die besseren Bildhauer.

Pflanzen sind sehr fleißig und arbeiten unentwegt. Ist es zu kalt, heiß oder trocken streiken sie. Gießt man sie zu sehr, sterben sie. Pflanzen liefern sich Kämpfe um die besten Plätze in einer Ausstellung. Das Ergebnis ist aber immer ästhetisch und harmonisch.

(*) 1986 | Leipzig | www.garff.de

Insektenkästen (Objekte aus Fundmaterial in Holzkästen)

Angelegte Insektensammlungen, lange Zeit ein Steckenpferd des Bildungsbürgertums, präsentieren ausschnitthaft den Farb- und Formenreichtum der Natur. Gleichzeitig manifestieren sie ein klares Machtverhältnis zwischen Mensch und Natur. Insekten werden systematisch gesammelt, getötet und in ein taxonomisches System eingeordnet. Sie werden in den Kästen zu kultivierten Objekten.

Die Insektenkästen von Matthias Garff zitieren diese Kulturpraxis. Sie zeigen auf, wie stark unsere Wahrnehmung von Natur von ästhetischen Kriterien geprägt ist.

(*) 1967 | Berlin/Potsdam | www.claudiahajek.de

Layers (Installation)

Ein brachliegendes Gelände übt oftmals eine besondere Magie aus. Vielleicht, weil es verschiedene Zeitschichten beinhaltet oder weil es das vorübergehende Resultat ganz unterschiedlich formender Prozesse ist. Claudia Hajek geht der Frage nach, wie sich Raumkoordinaten verändern, wenn ein von Menschenhand geplantes und angelegtes Stück Natur sich selbst überlassen wird. Welche Auswirkungen haben Wind, Wetter, Pflanzen und Mikroorganismen auf geometrisch geordnete Formen und Strukturen? Wo lassen Naturkräfte etwas Neues entstehen?

(*) 1987 | Hildesheim / Berlin | www.pleu.eu

Der Aufstand der Kleingartensiedlung - Neue Weltordnung (Live-Action-Role-Play, 3 Tage)

Unsere Recherche im Kleingartenverein 'Vereinte Kraft' nähert sich dem Kleingartenverein als Mikrokosmos Deutschlands. Die Siedlung als Abbild der Welt? Welcher Beliebtheit erfreuen sich Rote Beete, Bärlauch und Co, und wie gestalten die Erholungswütigen ihren Freiraum?

Das gesammelte Material bildet das Konzept für ein Live-Action-Role-Play. Jede/r ist eingeladen mit zu spielen. Die Rollen reichen von der Tomate über den Spaten, bis hin zum Kleingartenbesitzer selbst.

Wie würde die neue Weltordnung nach den Bedürfnissen von Kohlrabi, Kräuterspirale und Co aussehen? Alltag und Katastrophen, alles ist möglich.

(*) 1987 | Leipzig

like blossoms shaken from a tree, thousands of parachutes - white, yellow, red, green and black- floated down on Crete (Videoinstallation)

Die Installation thematisiert den Weg der Seide deutscher Wehrmachtsfallschirme - von der Seidenraupenzucht in Kleingärten über die Luftlandeschlacht um Kreta 1941 bis hin zu ihrer dortigen Wiederverwendung als Kleider und Taschentücher. Im NS-Propagandaprogramm zur Seidenraupenzucht, gesteuert vom "Reichsluftfahrtministerium", wurden ab Mitte der 1930er Jahre besonders Kleingartenvereine und Schulen adressiert, die der Eliteeinheit der Fallschirmjäger durch die Seidenraupenzucht zum Fallen verhelfen sollte.

(*) 1980 | Yerevan (Armenien)

Nachalo (DVD Video, 12 min. 20 sec.)

Ich begann mit der Arbeit am Video-Film “Nachalo” als eine Fortsetzung meines Projekts der „Garage Films“-Serie, das 2001 startete. Von Anfang an, nachdem ich den Kurzfilm “Nachalo” von Artavazd Peleshian gesehen hatte, der dem 50. Jahrestag der Oktoberrevolution gewidmet war, und dank des glücklichen Zufalls, dass sich die Oktoberrevolution zum 90. Mal jährte (2007), wurde mir klar, dass ich die kreativen Schichten freilegen musste, die Peleshian als Widerstand gegen das repressive Regime der Sowjetunion versucht hatte zu schaffen. In erster Linie nutzte ich bearbeitete, fertige, von Dritten gedrehte Archivsegmente, und befreite sie soweit wie möglich von ihrem Narrativ.

(*) 1982 | Amsterdam | www.guykoenigstein.com

Weißes Rauschen (und andere Privilegien) (Videoinstallation)

Die Videoinstallation, aufgenommen in einem abgelegten Dorf in den schweizer Alpen, umfasst zehn gleichzeitig ablaufende Episoden. Vor unterschiedlichen,  malerischen und friedlichen Hintergründen agiert der Protagonist - der Künstler - sprachlos und gedankenversunken in fiktiven Ausdauerübungen.

(*) 1993 | Leipzig | www.instagram.com/officialronny1

Herbarium (Lesung), Warum bin ich so traurig, meine Granatapfelblüte? (multimediale Lesung mit Rah Rezaei)

Das Herbarium ist wie ein Garten. Es trägt die Erinnerung der Pflanzen an sich selbst, und an die Wiesen und Wälder, denen sie entnommen sind.

Herbarium ist der Versuch einer literarischen Bestandsaufnahme, eine Katalogisierung des Organismus „Kleingartenkolonie“, der mitteldeutschen Natur- und Pflanzenwelt, ihrer historischen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Auswüchse.

(*) 1988 / 1987 | Paris/Vienna/Wroclaw | www.lauraoriol.fr / www.jasminschaitl.com  

Circulate (Zirkulieren) (Performance)

“Zirkulieren” ist ein Versuch, die Durchdringbarkeit des Körpers gegenüber seiner natürlichen Umgebung auszudrücken. Wir rollen langsam und öffnen unsere Sinne, während wir den Boden mit unserer annähernd ganzen Körperoberfläche erleben, riechen und vielleicht sogar schmecken. Dennoch veranschaulicht das Rollen auch einen unerfüllten Versuch, die Trennung zwischen Menschen und ihrer natürlichen Umgebung aufzuheben und zu heilen. In der Tat offenbart der Schmerz, der in unserer Körperbeziehung mit harten oder scharfen Oberflächen erlebt wird, diese Trennung.

(*) 1978 | Berlin | www.yiannispappas.com/

Anesidora (Klanginstallation)

Die Klanginstallation dreht sich um das Thema Anthropodizee, was wörtlich bedeutet “der gerechtfertigte Mensch”. Der Ausdruck Anthropodizee (altgriechisch: ánthrōpos „Mensch“ und díkē „Gerechtigkeit“) ist zusammengesetzt aus den Begriffen Theodizee und Kosmodizee und beschreibt die Rechtfertigung der Güte der Menschheit. Das Konzept ist inspiriert von der Pandora, in Verbindung mit der Interpretation als Anesidora, die Gaben spendende Göttin der Erde. Angelehnt an diesen Mythos repräsentiert das Kunstwerk den Eingang zu einem Keller, in dem alle Kriege der Menschheit weggeschlossen sind. Wahrnehmbar sind ausschließlich die Kriegsgeräusche.

(*) 1964 | Leipzig | www.uterichter.de

Der 15. Januar 1919 war ein Mittwoch (2017, Zeitungsdruck, 32 Seiten, Lubok Verlag)

Was haben gerasterte Pflanzenposter mit aktuellen Tendenzen national motivierter Gewalt zu tun? Diese Frage wird mit der Arbeit „Der 15. Januar 1919 war ein Mittwoch“ künstlerisch gestellt. Sie will an eine alte Geschichte erinnern.

Die Pflanzenmotive für den Zeitungsdruck wurden dem Herbarium von Rosa Luxemburg entnommen. Am 15. Januar 1919 wurde sie ermordet, damit „Deutschland so schnell wie möglich wieder zu Ruhe kommt“ (Flugblatt Januar 1919). Ute Richter nähert sich der Geschichte der Revolutionärin an, indem sie mittels abstrahierter Pflanzendarstellungen die „Geschichte von Mord und Totschlag“ erzählt.

Landschaftstransformation (Skulptur, Design, Übermalung, Klang)

Der Kleingarten ist ein sehr intimer und persönlicher Ort - fast wie ein zweites Wohnzimmer. Er erzählt Geschichten über seine Besitzer, er offenbart Ihr Innerstes.

In diesem Spannungsfeld von Utopie und Wirklichkeit deutschen Kleingärtnertums entstand die Idee der Landschaftstransformation, die eine dystopische Parallelwelt zum Gartenklischee kreiert. Dabei liegt der Fokus nicht auf dem Hinzufügen, vielmehr wird das Vorgefundene verhüllt, übermalt und neu arrangiert. Beton dominiert grün, Kälte dominiert Wärme, Künstliches dominiert Natürlichkeit. Es entsteht eine schmerzhafte Karikatur, ein verzerrter Realitätsspiegel, eine düstere Zukunftsvision.

Ein Ort ohne Hoffnung. Ein Ort des Neubeginns?

(*) 1981 | Chemnitz | www.anettschuster.de

Kaffeekranz (Installation / Urbane Klöppelkunst)

Die Sparte bietet ein breites Feld der Möglichkeiten zwischen Organisation und Chaos, Wiederentdeckung der Spießigkeit oder Widerstand gegen angestaubte Regeln. Diese Vernetzung offensichtlicher oder scheinbarer Gegensätze greift die Installation „Kaffeekranz“ auf. Erzgebirgisches Klöppeln in Zeiten zwischen Ruf der Spießigkeit und nostalgischer Rückbesinnung auf traditionelle Handarbeit fasst als geistiges Spiegelbild des Schrebergartens den unabdingbaren Treffpunkt zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen ein - die Kaffeetafel.

(*) 1987 | Düsseldorf / Wuppertal

Postwachstum (Pappmachee, Klang)

Die Arbeit Postwachstum lockt mit mit piepen, rascheln und rattern ins Gartenhäuschen. Seltsame Pflanzen haben es erobert. Sie wuchern teils tropfsteinhöhlenartig im Raum, machen das Häuschen nahezu unbetretbar.

(*) 1990 | Weimar / Leipzig | sndr.space

Trance-Dusche (Klanginstallation)

Inspiriert von David Tudors Rainforest IV erforscht die Arbeit die Materialität des Klangs und operiert an der Schwelle zwischen Hören und Fühlen. Die Anordnung der Schallquelle über dem Kopf führt zu einer „behüteten“ Atmosphäre, die sich durch die erlebten Klänge klar von der Umgebung abhebt und einen eigenen akustischen Raum öffnet. Schließt man die Augen, so wird der Raum erfahrbar und wandelt sich, wird stets tiefer und weiter und formt sich zu einer ganz individuellen Reise …

(*) 1981 | Berlin/Leipzig | www.danieltheiler.de

Gurkenparadies (Installation)


Die Installation Gurkenparadies zieht das Bild der
Schlangengurke heran, die durch die mittlerweile wieder abgeschaffte EU
Gurkenverordnung so etwas wie ein Symbol der Überregulierung
geworden ist. In der Arbeit wird die Stadt als regulierte, kuratierte Norm-
Gurke angesehen, die Peripherie hingegen als krumme aber freie Gurke
außerhalb der Norm. Sie steht sowohl für Eigenanbau und Eigeninitiative,
als auch für Laissez-fair und urban sprawl.

(*) 1986 | Berlin | www.tina-wilke.net

Heilige Kolonien (Videoinstallation)

Im Kontext der aktuellen europäischen Identitätskrise kann der Blick in den eigenen Vorgarten besonders aufschlussreich sein. Neben Kräutern und Blumen ragen dort häufig die Gartenzwerge hervor. Doch bei genauem Hinsehen stellen die Besucher*innen der Begehungen fest, dass es sich nicht um die heimischen Zwerge, sondern um Wesen aus der exotischen Ferne handelt.

In meiner Videoinstallation möchte ich das in Deutschland allseits bekannte Bild des Gartenzwergs mit denen der säkularen Heiligen aus Lateinamerika austauschen und diese anstatt der Zwerge in den Chemnitzer Schrebergarten bringen.